Today I will show you the option: Calculate project after each edit in MS Project 2019!
This option can be found here:
With this option set to On I will create a simple project with three tasks, connected together:
Now I will show you the Task Inspector:
As you can see, everything look fine, and is fine.
Now, I will turn this option Off, and I will crate the same Project again:
As you can see, all Start dates are the same (of course, this applies to my specific example), and calculation is not made at all. If I look at the Task inspector it will look like:
As you can see, I can’t see predecessors for Task 2, nor any other thing. When I hit F9 button, I will get everything like in example with option turned on.
The question is very simple: Why, on earth, will someone leave this option turned off? Even it looks odd, it is not. Every time I add or change something on the project, the whole calculation is made, with this option turned on. Do not forget that MS Project can be use for extremely large projects, so the calculation can last for a while. Instead of keeping this option turned on, I can turn it off, and manually ask for recalculation by hitting F9 button.
Which approach is better? None! If you have very large projects maybe it is better to keep this option off, but for “smaller” project keep it turned on.
And one more important thing. If this option is turned on or off, it will be applied to every single project. The new one, and existing one. There is no option to make it on or off for one single projects. So, if you will like to have it for some projects on, and for some others – off, you will need to constantly turn it on and off.