Today I will explain Team files option in Microsoft Project for the Web.
First of all I will create a Project:
Now I will assign a Group to this Project. In my example, I have a Group which is already created:
Now I will create a Task and I will attach a document to it:
Finally I will get:
Now, I will choose Team files option:
and I will get:
As you can see, I am at the SharePoint site, which belong to my Group not to my Project. What do I mean by that?
Let me create another Project:
As you can see I use the same Group. Now I will attach a document to the Task, and I will get:
If I choose Team files option in this Project I will get:
As you can see, I have both files in this Group SharePoint site, from First Project, and from Second Project. Now, I will delete First Project:
As you can see only Second Project is left:
If I now choose this Project and go to Team Files I will get:
As you can see, First Project has been deleted, but all the files which were attached to that Project remained.
What to do if you do not need them anymore? Well, erase them.
What to do if you want to see for each Project their associated files only? In that case, you should create a group for each particular Project, and you shouldn’t use a common one for multiple Project. But, in that Case when you create a group for particular Project you will have to add Team members in it. If you choose common group, once when the Team member is assigned to that Group it can be “reused” for each project which belongs to that Group.
So, it’s up to you to choose the approach. But remember this: When you delete a Project, associated group is not deleted by default. You should delete it manually!¨
Hope this helps.