again one of my Blog Readers has a question: “What if I want to make changes to the master project but don’t want it to change the sub projects? I want to be able to re-order the tasks in the master project but want them to stay in the same order for the sub projects. I thought you could save “one way”. I say yes to saving the master and no to the subs and I lose the master changes. Am I asking for the impossible?”
First I will create two Projects in MS PROJECT 2013:
After saving those two Projects (and you know how to save it), I’ll create Master Project, and I’ll Insert those two Project in Master:
After adding those two Project I’ll get:
Now I will move Second Tasks form second to the First Place in Master Project:
OK! Let’s see what is with Original Projects:
As you can see those Task has been moved in original Projects, as well!
If you want to avoid that you can make this:
When I do this for both Project I’ll get the same thing:
I will move Tasks, as I did in my previous example:
Let’s see the original Projects again:
Now I will add a brand new Task in Master Project, below Second Task of Second Project:
Now, again, let’s look at the Project #2:
New Task is not in it.
Be aware of this. If you add a Project in Master Project with Link to Project checkmark selected, whatever you do in Mater Project will be reflected in original Projects. On the other hand, if you add a Project in Master Project with Link to Project checkmark deselected, Master Project acts like a stand alone Project, ant that means that whatever you do in Master Project will not be reflected in original Projects. In that case Master Project and Subprojects are acting like a separate stand alone Project (as you type them manually).
I understand after following the instructions above changes to the master schedule will no longer be reflected in the sub projects. Will changes to the sub projects (like updating percent complete) still be reflected in the master project after you unlink them?
When you unlinke them, you can do whatever you want in the Master or original Project, but since they are unlinked nothing will be reflected on other project. They are acting like two totaly different projects!